Food Applications And The Frequently Asked Questions About Modified Methylcellulose

Views: 522 Author: Site Editor Publish Time: Origin: Site

Modified methylcellulose that is also referred to as methyl cellulose is in most case abbreviated as MC, it is a fiber supplement that is made from cellulose.


It is generally used as thickener, emulsifiers, stabilizers gelling agents or emulsifiers in the food manufacturing organizations.


There are various manufacturers of Modified methylcellulose in the market, however, you need to purchase from a reliable and dependable manufacturer.


This article will discuss the food application and frequently asked question on Modified methylcellulose.


Methylcellulose is a water soluble polymer that is chemically improved from a naturally occurring cellulose through a process of partial esterification with methyl groups.


Its application is wide because it is a polysaccharide and cellulose byproducts, it is an edible fiber with little or no calories in humans. It can be used in the cosmetic, pharmaceuticals, food and other industries.

 Modified Methylcellulose


The food grade is widely used because of its thermal gelatin, stabilizing nature, emulsion, lubrication etc. Its benefit varies based on different food categorizes.



In the confectionary industry, it is used as a lubricant to make application easy, it also makes the textures creamier, it improve ability to spread and clean taste release in coatings, frostings and glazes.



During baking, it helps retain gas, provides stability during freezing/thawing, it increases emulsion stability and improves crump smoothness and prolong shelf life of bakery products.



Modified methylcellulose gels when fried at a higher temperature and as such, provides the structure and reduces oil intake that will be of benefit to the vegetarian.



MC will control the formation crystal by ice, it will also provide a smooth texture as well as stabilize mixture such as in ice cream.



In other products, modified methylcellulose is used in salad dressings, toppings, in sauces to give firmness to the emulsion and extend the shelf life of products. In syrups and jellies, it is also known to act as a bulking agent.


Commonly Asked Questions About Modified Methylcellulose

1. Is mc a naturally occurring product?

According to its manufacturing procedures, MC is a synthetic product so it is not a naturally occurring compound.


2. Is It A Halal

Under the Islamic law, modified methylcellulose is permitted so it fulfils the condition of Halal, this means it can be termed a Halal.


3. Is It Gluten Free

According to the FDA reports, Methyl cellulose is gluten free, this simply means that it does not contain rye, wheat, barley or mixtures of these grains.


4. Is It A Vegetarian Product

Methyl cellulose are generally derived from cellulose which is a fiber that is plant based.


It is commonly gotten from wood chips and manufactured without the use of animal matter or any product that originated from animal. This makes it to be an accepted product for vegetarian.


5. Is It A Hydrocolloid

It is a hydrocolloid that is regularly used as a solidifying or forming agent, it is also known to be a soluble fiber.


Contact Us For High Quality Modified Methylcellulose

Methylcellulose have a wide application in the food and other industries. So, if you need a reliable manufacture that is also dependable kindly contact us if you have need to purchase these products.


Contact Us